St. Patrick’s Day Run 2014

Happy early St. Patrick’s Day!!

I am one of the few people who still make New Year’s Resolutions. One of my resolutions last year was to run in 3 races. I am happy to say that I was successful. I then decided to run the same 3 from last year and added on 3 more. (I’ll post a list of all of my New Year’s Resolutions another time. Promise!)

What have I gotten myself into?!

I’m not a runner. I’m not. Really!

It gives me great satisfaction to finish a race, it is a lot of fun and let’s be honest…I love getting that finisher’s medal when I cross the finish line. I’m starting to get a little bit of a collection. =)

So what am I getting at with all of this? My first race of the year was yesterday…Westport’s St. Patrick’s Day Run 2014.

20140315_095241

My friend Jenny and her family joined me. Here she is now. Hi Jenny!

20140315_093913

And this is her beautiful little girl C. =)

20140315_092905

They were wearing matching tutus. How cute!

I know I have a picture of she and I together. Where is it? Oh there it is…

20140315_093947

We aren’t the only ones out here. Look at all of these people.

20140315_094420

It took awhile for the race to start. We were way back in the stroller section. We passed the time though by taking selfies. Good one Jenny! =)

2014-03-15_13.32.25

Oh! Oh! It’s starting! It’s starting! Here we go!

20140315_100430

I didn’t take any pictures while running the race but I will share a couple of fun tidbits. Shortly after starting there were some people on the side of the race with green jello shots. I couldn’t help myself…St. Patrick’s Day and all…I stopped and had me one.  =)

This was a 4 mile race and just after mile 3 there were some more people passing out green beer. Yep! I stopped again. lol

Don’t worry I finished. We all did!

2014-03-15_13.29.21

See our lovely, festive necklaces. I know. You are wondering where is my finishing medal? It’s coming. Soon hopefully. I guess they were coming from overseas and are being held up in Customs. I’ll post a picture once I get it.

So here are my results. Keep in mind, as I’ve stated, I am not a runner. I do this more for fun.

Course Time – 58 minutes 46 seconds          Pace – 14 minutes 42 seconds per mile

I have decided that this is going to be my time to beat for next year! You bet ya…I’ve added it to my list of annual races. =)

Oh look at those bagpipes!

20140315_110709

And these lovely people. How fun!

20140315_110837

I love St. Patrick’s Day!!

Leave a Reply

