Super Moist Meatloaf

One of my dear friends gave birth to her second child, a sweet little girl, a couple of days ago. Today was their first day coming home from the hospital. I thought that they might be exhausted with the new baby and them having a toddler that I would fix dinner for their first night home. They were tired, sure, but not nearly as exhausted as I had expected them to be.

This would be a perfect point to share a picture of little Isabelle. However, her parents have yet to share pictures via Facebook. So I will respect their wishes and wait…as patiently as I can. She is just so cute!

Anyways, this post is about their dinner. I decided to make meatloaf (the best ever in my opinion), mashed potatoes and green beans. Not exactly an exciting meal but oh so good none the less.

I honestly can’t remember where I got the recipe for this meatloaf. I want to say that another one of my friend’s gave it to me. Or maybe it was I who shared it with her. See I don’t remember. lol

But it is sooooo good!

I don’t say this lightly. I was not a big fan of meatloaf prior to fixing this for the first time. Now I have made it for several people…and I haven’t found a single person to not like it.

In fact, one of my friends is a mostly vegetarian, and she had 2 pieces one time that I made it. It smelled so good that she couldn’t resist and then after trying it she just had to have another. One of my proudest moments. =)

Yes, I’m silly enough to admit to that.

I will admit I was in a hurry after work tonight to fix the meal and get it over to my friend’s house at a decent hour that I did not take any pictures. Oh do I wish I had taken at least one. I’ll make it again and add pictures when I do.

Super Moist Meatloaf

  • Servings: 8 slices
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Super Moist Meatloaf - 3 Pink Chairs

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs hamburger
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 package Lipton beefy onion soup mix
  • salt and pepper
  • milk (between 1/4 and 1/2 cup)
  • 3 pieces sliced bread
  • 1 squirt mustard

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl tear up sliced bread and add milk. Use your best judgment on the milk. Add enough so that the milk can soak it all up but not too much that the bread is swimming in it.
  3. Add egg, squirt mustard, soup mix, salt and pepper.
  4. Mix all together until everything is combined. Don’t be afraid to use your hands for this. (The original recipe pretty much says not to do this…mix everything together that is. Each time before this last time I followed the directions but this last time I mixed everything together and guess what? NO DIFFERENCE. So I say mix away. That way when you add the hamburger you won’t have to mix as much.)
  5. Add hamburger and mix together, again with hands, until seasoning is dispersed evenly throughout the meat.
  6. Plop, yes ploy, on to a baking sheet. Form in to a loaf. (I like my loaf flatter that way I can have more crust. That’s up to you though.)
  7. Bake for just under 60 minutes.

One thought on “Super Moist Meatloaf

  1. Pingback: Meatloaf Round 2 | 3 Pink Chairs

Leave a Reply

