Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup

Hello!

I have decided to give myself a goal of posting each day for a full week.

Since I just posted yesterday I am counting that as Day 1. That would make this Day 2.

Fingers crossed that I can stay with it. =)

On to today’s post…Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup.

Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup: 3 Pink Chairs

This soup is so good, easy, flavorful and even Paleo. Not sure if you all remember but I attempted to do a 30-Day Paleo Challenge last Winter. I say attempted because I was only successful for 23 days until my emotions (it was a bad few days) got the best of me and I fell off the wagon. However, while I was doing the challenge I came across a few recipes (this is one of them) that I fell in love with and will continue to make for years to come.

One of the best characteristics of this dish is it’s color. Let me list the veggies that are in it and you will see what I’m talking about: carrots, sweet potatoes and butternut squash.

Do you see a theme here? ORANGE!

Orange

The color is so vibrant. I love it!

The flavors add a sweetness that is wonderful. It’s not too sweet though. Don’t worry about that.

On to the recipe…

Here is what you need to make the soup. Look at that butternut squash. It’s huge! I only used half for this recipe. Side note this dish was my first time using butternut squash. I almost didn’t actually. I didn’t know what it was or what it would taste like so I almost used more sweet potato in place of the squash. Boy am I glad that I gave it a shot. Love it! The Chicken Lettuce Cups in yesterdays post had the left over butternut squash in it. Unusual ingredient but it was good. =)

Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup: 3 Pink Chairs

Start by chopping up all those veggies. There is definitely a lot to cut up. All in all you will need roughly a cup of butternut squash or so the recipe says. As I mentioned above I used half the squash in the picture. You will also need 2 carrots and 1 sweet potato, both peeled and cut. You will also need half an onion and 3 or 4 garlic cloves. Go ahead and leave the garlic cloves peeled but whole and the onion can be in wedges or large chunks. Both will be pureed later.

Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup: 3 Pink Chairs

Awe…there is a hummingbird outside my window. I think it knows how sweet these veggies are. =)

Put all this in the oven and let roast for 25 minutes or as long as needed. You want to get that yummy caramelization. It brings lots of flavor to the table.

Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup: 3 Pink Chairs

Now to turn to the soup base and chicken. The soup is 4 cups chicken broth flavored with lots of dried herbs. I like to put the herbs on the chicken itself before letting the chicken cook in the broth. The recipe doesn’t call for it but sometimes I sprinkle on a little bit of garlic powder too. Not too much you have garlic roasting in the oven.


Once cooked, dice the chicken in to bite size pieces and add back to the soup. At this point also can also add half of the colorful veggies. Reserve the other half as well as the onions and garlic for the next step.

Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup: 3 Pink Chairs

You can probably eat this soup just like this but it gets so much better if you do this next step. Add the reserved veggies to a blender along with 1-2 cups of water. 1 is usually enough. It really depends on how you like the texture of your soup and how much chicken broth is left in the pot.

Add this to the soup pot.

Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup: 3 Pink Chairs

Look at that ORANGE color!

Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup: 3 Pink Chairs

Again, you can eat the soup at this step. But why not take it one step further and add some spinach and kale.

Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup: 3 Pink Chairs

The original recipe only calls for spinach but I decided to throw in some kale the last time I made it. It turned out great! Stir it in and let it sit for just a few minutes and wahlah…dinner is served!

Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup: 3 Pink Chairs

Doesn’t that make you want to make a bowl right now? It does me. =)

The original recipe was found here. As you can tell I haven’t changed much at all (the addition of the kale is about it). It’s just that good!

Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup: 3 Pink Chairs

Ingredients:

  • 3 or 4 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 cup butternut squash, peeled and cubed (I don’t measure. Use your best judgment.)
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and cubed
  • 1/2 a white or yellow onion, quartered or cut in to large pieces
  • EVOO for the veggies
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 3 or 4 chicken breasts (1 package from the grocery store is usually what I use.)
  • 3/4 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • salt and pepper
  • 1-2 cups water
  • couple handfuls fresh baby spinach
  • couple handfuls fresh kale

*I added in the amounts for the dried herbs for you but I’ll be honest I don’t measure. I just added as I saw fit. Completely up to you how you want to go about it.

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Spread out the veggies on a baking sheet. You can mix everything up but I like to keep each veggie separate. I feel it makes it easier to ensure I get half of each left whole and half blended. Salt and pepper and sprinkle with EVOO. Lightly toss to cover the veggies with the oil and place in the oven to roast for 25 minutes or how ever long it takes for the veggies to be tender.
  3. Add the chicken broth to a large pot and bring to a simmer.
  4. Sprinkle the herbs, salt and pepper to the chicken breast and let simmer in the chicken broth until they are cooked through.
  5. Once the chicken is done, remove from the pot and dice in to bite size pieces. Add back in to the broth.
  6. Once the veggies are done, add half to the pot with the chicken and broth.
  7. Add the reserved veggies, onion and garlic to a blender. Add a cup or two of water to the blender and blend until your desired texture. Add this mixture to the pot as well.
  8. At this point put all the spinach and kale in the soup, stir and let sit for a few minutes to allow the greens to wilt.
  9. Serve and eat!

I love this soup and have shared it with many people. I am now sharing it with you. Please continue to pass on to your loved ones! Hope you all enjoy!

Don’t forget to let me know what you think. I love feedback! =)

One thought on “Roasted Veggie and Chicken Soup

  1. Pingback: Week 6 | 3 Pink Chairs

Leave a Reply

