Lemon Blueberry Layer Cake

This cake is wonderful!

Lemon Blueberry Cake: 3 PInk Chairs

Look at all the blueberries. Love it!

I first found this recipe on Pinterest back in March. As soon as I saw it I knew it was going to be my birthday cake. 4 months later, it was. =)

My birthday was about 3 weeks ago and I had several friends including my siblings over to help me celebrate. The picture is a little blurry but here we are…N, L, me and C…all of my sibs!

20140726_213219

I made all of the food, including my birthday cake. We had pulled pork sandwiches, chicken salad croissant sandwiches, pasta salad, corn dip and chips and salsa. And of course there was cake and ice cream for dessert.

I tried to take pictures along the way but somehow failed to do so for the cake. =( I do have the finished product though. Yay!

Lemon Blueberry Cake: 3 Pink Chairs

I thought of everything but the candles. lol

Oh well. There’s always next year.

The cake itself was lemon with lots of blueberries throughout. It had 3 layers (I love layer cakes!) with cream cheese filling and frosting. As I have already said it was wonderful.

The only thing I would do differently is maybe add some lemon zest in the frosting. Not a lot. Just a little bit.

Here is what it looked like after we each had a piece.

Lemon Blueberry Cake: 3 Pink Chairs

I was afraid that there wouldn’t be enough frosting and was a little skimpy in between the layers. Oops! It all worked out though. Just meant there was a lot more on top. =)

When my sister bought her house she was determined to have a chalkboard wall. Though I thought she was just going to have a little section rather than the main wall in her kitchen. I’m the first to admit that I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. I was wrong to doubt her. My sister has a really good eye for decorating and knows what she wants…most of the time. This time is a prime example of when it all turns out just right.

20140726_142229

Every time we have any sort of celebration at her house we always write all over the chalkboard. Everyone must sign their name, draw a picture or both. =)

20140727_000752

It’s a fun edition to any party.

Ok so here is the recipe for the cake.

Lemon Blueberry Layer Cake

  • Servings: 10-12
  • Time: 1-2 hours
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Lemon Blueberry Cake: 3 Pink Chairs

Ingredients for the Cake:

  • 1 cup softened butter
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • zest and juice of 3 lemons
  • 1 tablespoon flour

Ingredients for the Frosting:

  • 8 oz softened cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 3 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1-2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Prep 3 9″ cake pans by either spraying with nonstick spray or using butter and flour. Your choice. I’ve done both.
  3. In a large bowl beat the butter with a hand mixer until creamy, then add in both the granulated sugar and the brown sugar. Continue beating until fully combined and creamy.
  4. Add eggs and vanilla. Continue beating. By this point you have been beating for around 5 minutes. Set aside.
  5. For the dry ingredients, combine flour, baking powder and salt.
  6. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients.
  7. Once all are combined add the buttermilk and lemon zest. After zesting the lemons cut in half and squeeze as much juice outs of them you can. Make sure to not get any seeds in the cake batter. (You may find it easier to juice lemons in another bowl first. This way you can easily scoop out any seeds that fall in.)
  8. Stir until all is combined.
  9. At this point toss the blueberries in a tablespoon of flour and add to the batter. The flour will help the blueberries suspend in the mixture while the cake bakes rather than sinking to the bottom.
  10. Divide the cake as evenly as possible between the 3 cake pans.
  11. Bake for approximately 20 minutes.  (The recipe says 21-26 minutes. I set my timer at 21 and they were done. In fact I think they could have been pulled out a minute early. This is why I say 20 minutes. Everyone’s oven is different though so check the cakes and if they need a few extra minutes keep them in. Just keep a close eye on them. You don’t want all of your hard work to go down the drain.)
  12. While the cakes are baking, prepare the frosting. Using a hand mixer again beat the cream cheese and butter together until no lumps remain and the mixture is smooth and creamy. This make take a few minutes.
  13. Add the confectioners’ sugar, 1 tablespoon cream, vanilla extract and salt. Continue beating for a few more minutes. You can add more cream if the frosting is a little thick. Put in the fridge until read to use.
  14. Once the cakes come out of the oven let them cool completely on a wire rack. Don’t forget to take them out of the pan. At this point I was a little worried that they didn’t turn out because I am used to cakes rising up quite a bit and these didn’t. Don’t worry though because they were nice and moist and tasted great.
  15. After the cakes cool you can start assembling. Take the frosting out of the fridge and stir to loosen it up. Place the first layer of cake on your serving platter or cake stand and spread a thin (not as thin as I did, remember there will be enough frosting) layer of frosting over the top of the cake.
  16. Do this for the next 2 layers.
  17. Take the remaining frosting and spread around the sides of the cake. You’re done!
  18. You can eat the cake at this point but it’s best to let the cake set in the fridge for about an hour first.
  19. Slice and serve. (I think I got at least 12 slices of cake, if not 15, out of this.) =)

One of my friends had commented, “You know you’re an adult when you don’t have a chocolate cake for your birthday.” Don’t get me wrong I love my chocolate. But this was a very nice change. What kind of cakes do you like to eat at your celebrations?

P.S. Day 4 – I’m still rockin’ and rollin’.

Leave a Reply

