BBQ Pulled Pork

BBQ Pulled Pork: 3 Pink Chairs

This is one of my favorite recipes to make in a slow cooker.

It is absolutely the easiest meal to put together and it tastes so good.

Honestly it takes just a few minutes to set up, which I love. I then set it on low all day while I’m at work. I get to come home to my apartment smelling yummy and delicious.

Now I realize this might be a recipe that most people have used themselves. I am sharing this because for me it was new. About a year ago I was having dinner at a friend’s house. She had made pulled pork in her crockpot and it was so good. I couldn’t wait to make it myself. And I have…several times.

Here is what I use.

BBQ Pulled Pork: 3 Pink Chairs

A funny little story about my slow cooker…I was in college and my birthday was coming up. My Grandma was trying to get ideas from me of what I might want for my birthday present. A slow cooker was what came to mind. Thinking back you would think that I used it in my dorm room. But I didn’t. In fact my first time using it was 8 years later. I think I made Beef Stroganoff. Oh I’ll have to make that soon. Another really good slow cooker recipe. Anyways, am I glad that I have my slow cooker? Yes! Do I wish I would have started using it earlier? Yes! Am I taking advantage of having it now? Yes!

On to the recipe:

I start the pork by seasoning it on both sides with salt and pepper. Then put the pork roast in the slow cooker.

BBQ Pulled Pork: 3 Pink Chairs

I like to add a little bit of moisture with some chicken broth. I’ve never measured how much I put in but maybe half a cup. I also squirt the top of the roast with barbeque sauce. I use Original KC Masterpiece because that is about the only BBQ sauce I ever buy. Obviously any bbq sauce would work for this.

BBQ Pulled Pork: 3 Pink Chairs

This picture already has the chicken broth in it. As you can tell I don’t use very much at all.

I like to cook mine on low while I’m at work. This means it’s in the slow cooker for about 10 hours. Yes, that’s a long time. But the meat is oh so tender when I get home.

BBQ Pulled Pork: 3 Pink Chairs

It literally takes 30 seconds to shred with just a couple of forks. I love it!

BBQ Pulled Pork: 3 Pink Chairs

Doesn’t that look scrumptious?

What’s awesome is I can make 6-8 sandwiches out of one pork roast. And it’s so cheap to make. Bonus!

Here is the recipe.

BBQ Pulled Pork

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Time: 10 hours
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

BBQ Pulled Pork: 3 Pink Chairs

Ingredients:

  • 1 pork roast (maybe 3-ish lbs)
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • barbeque sauce (enough to cover the top of the roast)
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Season both sides of the pork roast with salt and pepper. Place in slow cooker.
  2. Pour chicken broth around the roast.
  3. Squirt enough barbeque sauce over the roast to cover.
  4. Set on low and walk away. I usually cook mine while I’m at work so it cooks for 10-ish hours. It’s probably done closer to 7 or 8 though. You can probably turn your slow cooker to high and cook it even faster.
  5. Once done, use two forks to shred the pork. It should be so tender that it takes no time at all to do this.
  6. Enjoy!

I always eat my pulled pork as a sandwich but am looking for new ways to try it. I’ve thought about nachos or maybe a stuffed potato. I think I might have to try that next time.

How do you eat your pulled pork?

Leave a Reply

