Harvest Medley Pie

I love this pie!

20131128_090848

I really do.

I first came across this recipe on Pinterest toward the end of 2013. I made it for my Dad’s side of the family for Thanksgiving. However, there were so many other desserts there that it hardly got touched. I was a little sad and disappointed. Not going to lie.

I was very proud of this pie. Very.

After leaving my Dad’s side I stopped by my Mom’s side of the family and brought what remained of the pie. Here it was devoured. I was so happy.

20141127_152237

My Stepdad liked it so much that he requested I make another for Christmas. In fact he requested that I make two. =)

20131228_105227

What is this pie you ask?

Harvest Medley Pie!

20131228_134002

Essentially it is an apple pie but so much better than a basic apple pie. Combined with the apples are dried cranberries, dried apricots and chopped walnuts. Hence the harvest part of the name.

I made it again this year for Thanksgiving. This pie is fast becoming a holiday favorite. It certainly is for me.

It’s quite easy to make as well.

Here are the ingredients that are needed.

20141127_072559

You notice I have store bought pie crusts. One of these days I’ll try making my own but these are so easy and so tasty. So for now I’m good.

Start with peeling and slicing 3 apples. Yes I have 4 apples pictured above. This is because I always start with 3 but ultimately decide on 4. The extra apple is up to you.

20141127_074156

Next add in dried apricots that have been chopped in to smaller pieces, dried cranberries and chopped walnuts.

20141127_074704

Look at all the pretty colors. Mmm…

Now add in the sugars, flour and pumpkin pie spice.

20141127_074953

Place one of the crusts in the bottom of a pie dish. Mine is a little on the big side and the crust barely reaches the top of the sides.

20141127_075905

Stir together the apples, dried fruit and sugars. Put in your pie dish. It’s ok if there are some dry spots. They won’t stay dry for long.

20141127_080009

Add on the top crust and cut a few slits in the dough. This will let the steam out while the pie bakes.

20141127_080207

This is optional but I wet my hands down and pat the dough so that it’s a little wet. Then I sprinkle sugar on top. This makes it pretty and adds a little crunch.

20141127_080308

Bake for about 50 minutes and walah!

20141127_084539

So pretty!

I feel my first pie was my best. But they’ve all been good. I think I’ve made 4 or 5 so far. =)

Quick note – as when baking all pies you want to make sure not to let the edges get too dark. You can use foil to do this. It works well. But, oh man, I love this thing, my Dad introduced me to a pie shield. His is an old school medal ring whereas mine is not. This is what I use. Less than $10 at Bed, Bath and Beyond.

Pie Shield

Here is the recipe.

Harvest Medley Pie

  • Servings: 8
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

20131228_134014

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Pillsbury pie crusts, thawed
  • 3-4 Granny Smith apples, peeled and sliced
  • 1 cup mixed dried fruit – I use apricots and cranberries.
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1-2 Tbsp white sugar plus more if sprinkling on top

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Combine apples, dried fruit, walnuts, sugars, flour and pumpkin pie spice together in large bowl.
  3. Place one of the pie crusts in the bottom of a pie dish. Press firmly along the bottom and sides of the dish.
  4. Pour apple mixture in to the pie dish and top with the second crust. Crimp the edges to seal the 2 pie crusts together.
  5. Make a few slits in the top to let the steam out while the pie bakes.
  6. I rub water over the top of my pie and sprinkle with sugar. You can also use an egg wash. Though I feel the water works just as good.
  7. Bake for 45-50 minutes. Make sure not to let your crust get too brown. You can cover the edges with foil or a pie shield if they are getting too dark.
  8. Let it rests for an hour or so when it comes out of the oven.
  9. Enjoy!

I think this pie will be around for awhile. What are some of your favorite holiday recipes?

 

Leave a Reply

