Eggnog French Toast

One day a few months I was walking through Wal-Mart with my Mom and Stepdad. As they sometimes do at WM there was a table set up for samples. This one was for Eggnog. I’ll admit I had never had eggnog before. So I thought I would give it a shot. Oh my! I had been missing out. It was delicious.

The lady dishing out this little sample of creamy goodness had a wonderful suggestion that I haven’t been able to get out of my head. She mentioned that eggnog would be a great base for French toast. Why hadn’t I thought of this? Probably because I had never had eggnog before. That has changed though. I can promise you that.

20150113_182635

So the plan was to make the french toast last month around Christmas. Unfortunately plans don’t always pan out. This one sure didn’t. =(

I was beginning to worry that I had lost my chance. I mean Eggnog is seasonal right? The season is over.

Will I have to wait until next season when I can find Eggnog again? That’s what 9-ish months. Oh no!

20150113_182856

Last weekend however, much to my surprise, I found that Eggnog was still in the grocery store. Well, a grocery store. I can’t speak for all grocery stores everywhere. But this particular one had Eggnog still in stock and I was thankful.

I practically jumped for joy when I saw that it was still available. =)

Then the hunt began for the perfect bread. I didn’t want regular old sliced bread. Now, I don’t make French toast that often but when I do I use regular old, pre-sliced, sandwich bread. But for this, for this, I wanted something special. The hunt didn’t really take long though. I found some Challah on the other side of the store. lol

20150113_180156

I must admit I had never had Challah prior to making this recipe. Turns out this recipe is holding quite a bit of firsts for me…Eggnog, Challah, not using pre-sliced bread for French toast. Yay!

Here is what you need to make your own Eggnog French Toast.

20150113_175854

I only cut 4 thick slices of the Challah but there is enough egg mixture to fix 6 slices.

20150113_180338

Mix together the eggs, eggnog, nutmeg and cinnamon.

20150113_180646

Oh I love all the speckles of color from the cinnamon. You know it’s going to be some good French toast.

20150113_180752

Soak the slices of Challah in the egg mixture. They are thick slices so let them soak a few minutes. Don’t forget to flip them over. You want the bread to soak up as much of the yummy eggnog as possible.

20150113_180907

Put a little butter in a skillet and cook 2 slices of the French toast at a time. I suppose if you have a griddle you might be able to cook all of them at once. Me though? No griddle.  So 2 at a time it is.

20150113_181932

Brown on both sides.

20150113_182121

Top with your favorite syrup and sprinkle with a little powdered sugar.

20150113_182549

So pretty!

I debated about sharing this all with you but it’s real, it’s what happened and it happens to all of us. Here goes nothing.

I burnt my next 2 slices of French Toast.

20150113_182716

I was so excited about getting the perfect picture that I completely forget I was still cooking. Oops!

Don’t do what I did. Though they still tasted good. =)

Here’s the recipe.

Eggnog French Toast

  • Servings: 3
  • Time: 15-ish minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

20150113_182635

Ingredients:

  • 1 loaf good quality bread (I used Challah)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup eggnog
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • couple pads butter

Directions:

  1. Slice 6 slices of bread. Make the slices thick; inch to an inch and a half.
  2. Mix eggs, eggnog, nutmeg and cinnamon in casserole dish. Mix well.
  3. Soak bread in eggnog mixture. This will take a few minutes. Be sure to flip over a couple of times.
  4. Melt butter in skillet. Cook 2 slices of the French toast at a time. Brown on both sides.
  5. Once cooked through, top with syrup and powdered sugar.
  6. Enjoy!

Hope this inspires you to make your own decadent Eggnog French Toast!

Let me know how it tastes when you do. =)

 

2 thoughts on “Eggnog French Toast

Leave a Reply

