Mashed Roasted Butternut Squash with Caramelized Onions

This side dish is a mouth full to say but it is so worth it to make!

I’ve had this idea for a couple of months now and I finally got around to making it last night. I wanted another side dish that was tasty and still healthy for you. I think I found a winner with this.

3 Pink Chairs: Mashed Roasted Butternut Squash with Caramelized Onions

Doesn’t that look good?!

You would almost think it was mashed sweet potatoes if you didn’t know better.

It doesn’t take very long to prep everything but it does take quite a while for the butternut squash to roast in the oven. I’m not going to lie to you, it took longer than I thought it would. I probably could have gotten by with only roasting them for a half hour but after checking on them they just didn’t feel done. All in all I let the squash roast for a full hour.

I think next time I will try boiling the butternut squash and see how much the flavor defers. I feel that roasting adds a lot of flavor that I don’t want to lose. But it never hurts to try.

This dish has such a buttery, creamy texture to it you think you’re cheating on your diet. But you’re not! I put very little butter and cream in so it’s mostly veggies. You can’t get much healthier than that. I so wish I knew what the calorie count on it is but alas I don’t.

Here is how you make it:

Start by peeling and cubing 1 medium butternut squash as well as 2 peeled garlic cloves. Toss with a little EVOO, salt and pepper and pop in to the oven. Can’t get much easier than that.

3 Pink Chairs: Mashed Roasted Butternut Squash with Caramelized Onions

Next slice half a yellow onion. I only ever buy yellow onions. I’m sure though that you can use whatever your favorite type of onion is. I made sure to slice the onion very, very thin. Then I let it caramelize in the sauté pan with a little bit of EVOO.

Once the butternut squash is cooked through and nicely roasted, remove from the oven.

3 Pink Chairs: Mashed Roasted Butternut Squash with Caramelized Onions

Now add to a blender. I thought of using a hand mixer for this but I really wanted the onions to get pureed in to the butternut squash. I was hoping for as smooth a mixture as possible.

3 Pink Chairs: Mashed Roasted Butternut Squash with Caramelized Onions

Add in the onions, a little butter and a little cream. Puree. Puree. Puree.

3 Pink Chairs: Mashed Roasted Butternut Squash with Caramelized Onions

I was hoping this would make a lot but it really only makes about 4 servings. I suppose that is enough though. I’m sure this would be a very easy recipe to double if needed.

Here is the recipe:

Mashed Roasted Butternut Squash with Caramelized Onions

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: hour-ish
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

3 Pink Chairs: Mashed Roasted Butternut Squash with Caramelized Onions

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1/2 onion, sliced thin
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2 Tbsp cream/milk

Directions:

  1. Toss butternut squash and garlic with EVOO, salt and pepper and roast in the oven until squash is cooked through. (Mine took closer to an hour but start checking it after about 30 minutes.)
  2. Cook onions with EVOO in sauté pan over low heat until caramelized.
  3. Add all ingredients – butternut squash, garlic, onions, butter and milk – to blender and puree until smooth.
  4. Eat!

I paired mine with chicken breast and broccoli for dinner and chicken breast and peas for lunch the next day. Both were fantastic. Although I think I liked it mixed with the peas just a smidge better. =)

 

One thought on “Mashed Roasted Butternut Squash with Caramelized Onions

Leave a Reply

