Turkey Shepherd’s Pie

At my previous job a small group of us watched The Chew pretty much every day. It’s been about 3 months since I worked there. Hence, about 3 months since I had watched an episode of The Chew.

The Chew 1

Well….close.

About 2 weeks ago I decided to start watching again. What can I say? I was going through withdrawals.

I love me some Clinton and Michael. =)

The Chew

They really are my favorites on the show.

Anyways not too long ago Clinton made this recipe and I was/am on a health kick so I just had to make it.

Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Doesn’t it look yummy? And it’s healthy!

The “mashed potatoes” are actually mashed cauliflower. He also substituted the beef for ground turkey. If I remember correctly each serving is only 240 calories. Not bad!

I’ve had mashed cauliflower before. One of my cousin’s used to bring it to family functions. I was hesitant at first and would always choose the real mashed potatoes that another cousin would always bring. Then one day I thought “just give it a try”.

I’m glad I did!

Honestly, if you make them right you can’t tell the difference. And so much healthier for you. Always a plus. =)

But to have them on top of something else such as in this dish? Well, I never even considered it.

Why not? Who knows. Won’t make that mistake again though.

This dish works perfectly. Even though I made the meal at times it felt like I was eating real potatoes. Love it!

Here is what you need to make this:

The recipe calls for a few more ingredients such as Worcestershire and red wine. Unfortunately I didn’t have either so I made do without. Though I do think that both would add to the flavor profile, I think the recipe is still good without. I’ll make this again and use all the ingredients. Don’t you worry. I’ll let you know what I think when I do. Promise!

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

The recipe only calls for 1 rib of celery and 1 carrot. Personally, I want more veggies. So, next time I will add 2 of each.

First step is to get your garlic going for the cauliflower. Put the garlic cloves in a small piece of aluminum foil with some EVOO. Bake/roast in the oven for about 25 minutes.

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

For the cauliflower – The original recipe calls for 2 heads of cauliflower. I used 2 1 lb bags of frozen cauliflower. It’s so much cheaper and works just as well. Boil in salted water for just a few minutes. Heads up if you use the frozen kind it will take a little bit for the water to come back to a boil.

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Put cooked cauliflower, roasted garlic, Greek yogurt and Parmesan cheese in a blender and puree until smooth.

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

For the turkey mixture – Saute your onion, celery and carrot until the carrot softens and the onion is translucent.

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

At this point add in the ground turkey. Don’t forget to season with salt and pepper at each step.

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Cook until the turkey is cooked mostly through and add in a couple squirts of tomato paste.

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Let the tomato paste cook for a few minutes and then sprinkle with a little flour. Stir together and add in the Worcestershire and red wine. Remember I didn’t have either so I added in a little bit of chicken broth. Wait a few more minutes.

Add in the rest of the chicken broth, herbs and peas. The recipe only called for a 1/2 cup of peas. I added all I had in my freezer. It was probably a cup, little more.

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Now let simmer for 10-ish minutes while the sauce thickens.

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Pour in to your casserole dish…

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

…and top with the mashed cauliflower.

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Broil in the oven until all bubbly and the top has browned a little. Mine didn’t brown. =( I was hungry and impatient though. So…

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

So yummy!

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

I don’t think you’ll miss much with this lightened version, flavor wise. I will admit though I did notice that I didn’t feel full after eating a serving of this. I think next time I’ll add a salad as a side.

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Here’s the recipe:

Turkey Shepherd's Pie

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

3 Pink Chairs: Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Ingredients:

  • 2 1 lb bags frozen cauliflower (or 2 heads cauliflower, chopped)
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • few tablespoons EVOO
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 or 2 ribs of celery, chopped
  • 1 or 2 carrots, chopped
  • couple squirts tomato paste
  • 1 Tbsp flour
  • 1/4 cup red wine (I used chicken broth)
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce (I didn’t have and it still tasted good)
  • 1 tsp rosemary
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas

Directions:

  1. Put garlic cloves on a sheet of aluminum and drizzle with EVOO. Bundle up and roast in oven for about 25 minutes.
  2. Boil the cauliflower in salted water.
  3. Puree the cauliflower with the roasted garlic, Greek yogurt and Parmesan cheese. You will want to puree until smooth. This may take several minutes.
  4. Saute the onion, celery and carrots in EVOO until the carrots are soft and the onions are translucent.
  5. Add in the ground turkey and season with salt and pepper.
  6. Once the turkey is mostly cooked through, add in a couple squirts of tomato paste. Let cook for a few minutes.
  7. Sprinkle the flour over the turkey mixture and add in red wine, chicken broth if using, and let cook for a few more minutes.
  8. Add in rest of chicken broth, Worcestershire sauce, rosemary and peas. Let come to a boil and simmer for about 10 minutes until nice and thick.
  9. Pour the turkey mixture in to a casserole dish and cover with the mashed cauliflower.
  10. Broil until the cauliflower has slightly browned.
  11. Enjoy!

Hope you all enjoy this healthy dish. What all do you eat to stay healthy?

Leave a Reply

