Hello Again!

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted on here. When I say awhile, I mean awhile. My last post was over  year ago. =(

But I’m back!

I feel as if there is so much change going on in my life right now and sharing it on Facebook just wasn’t cutting it. I used to enjoy writing and posting in 3 Pink Chairs. I honestly can’t think of why I stopped. So I thought why not start it back up? There really isn’t a reason not to. So…here I am!

How have you been? What have you been up to?

Me? Quite a lot actually! Over the last 3 or so years I have slowly been gaining weight. More and more each month until I finally reached my breaking point. I was about 10 lbs over my all time (or what was my all time) highest weight. I’m going to be completely honest here. I’m short – 5’1″ – and I weighed 175 lbs. Ouch!

My clothes were way too tight. I refused to buy larger sizes until one day one of my friends convinced me it was time. But since they weren’t tight any more it’s almost like it gave me permission to keep eating and keep growing in the wrong sort of ways.

I would try to make healthier choices eating-wise but chocolate is my down fall. It is far too readily available at my work place. I can map a short walk around the office being the social butterfly that I am and pick up chocolate at no less than 5 desks. It was getting to be too much!

Then one day a coworker told me about a calorie counting app called MyFitnessPal. I’m sure many of you have heard of this app. Some of you have probably even tried it. Well I’m here to say it works! I have been using it, combined with exercising, for 74 days now and am PROUD to say that I am down 19 lbs.

My eating habits have changed dramatically. Although I have been eating more spaghetti squash and ground turkey don’t think I have stopped having chocolate. What I love about the app is that as long as you stay under your allotted calories for the day you can pretty much eat whatever you want. It just makes you plan a little more and make wiser decisions.

I’m also working out more. One day I decided to go for a walk over my lunch break. Then another. And another. Eventually it became a habit to walk over lunch. As often as I could at least. Sometimes work just doesn’t allow it. Too much to do! =( Sometimes the weather was not on my side. Boo! But most other days I walked and walked and walked. I got to the point that I wanted to see how far I could walk and still have time to eat lunch. Now, I usually average a little over 2 miles.

What’s nice about where I work is that it’s right across the street from a residential neighborhood, a hilly residential neighborhood. This makes my walks more interesting. I’m also right between two great areas of the city with lots of restaurants in each. If I don’t bring my lunch you better believe that I’m walking somewhere to get my food. Most everything is within a mile. It’s great to get out of the office, even if just for a little bit.

Besides walking, I’ve also been going to the gym more often. I already had a gym membership. Obviously I wasn’t using it. About a month and a half ago I decided to start going at least once every weekend. I figure 4 times a month will at least make paying for the membership worth it. Combined with my walks it would mean that I was getting exercise at least 3-4 days a week.

Earlier this week I decided to up my game and meet with an instructor to see how I can take the next step. I met with him tonight and have a game plan for the next month. I am so excited!

Now that I’m back, what can you expect to hear from me? If it isn’t obvious there will probably be a lot of health talk – food, calories, exercise, etc. It’s a big part of my life at the moment. But as I said I still love my chocolate. So not everything will be completely healthy. I’m also a very open person. Whatever is going on in my life will probably find it’s way on here in some shape or form.

So, thanks for sticking with me, hope that others can join in the fun. Let’s enjoy getting healthy and living a balanced life together!

Bettina

Leave a Reply

