30 in 30 Update

It’s been 15 days (well more so now that I am finally getting around to publishing this) since I started the 30 in 30 challenge! I’m surprised at how, well, challenging this has been thus far. Some days you just don’t feel like walking. Other days you don’t have enough time.

20160616_061452 - Copy

Case in point – Day7. I didn’t come from work until after 6. There were a few things I needed to do around the house before I could fix dinner such as do the dishes from the night before’s dinner. Eek! I just admitted that on here. Well, it’s true. Anyways, I had to do dishes, then I could cook dinner. After dinner, I found that I was low on calories for the day (I have to eat at least 1,000 calories and no more than 1,240) so I thought why not get some ice cream.

I love ice cream!

Especially during the summer months. I could eat it every day…and have before!

On the way to the ice cream store I talked myself out of getting ice cream and in to going to the gym. What?! Yes, I did. After 30 minutes on the elliptical I didn’t get back home until just before 10pm.

I still needed to do my mile for the day. No, the elliptical doesn’t count. Yes, I could have walked a mile on the treadmill at the gym. But, I had in my head that all of my miles would be walked outside if possible.

So, what do you do? You walk in circles around your apartment complex! lol

Screenshot_2016-06-16-06-33-11 (2)

 

I learned that it is just slightly a 1/4 mile around 3 buildings at my complex. 4 times around and you got yourself a mile.

Other days, you have a little extra time and take a walk instead of driving .

Day 4 – my siblings and I, there are 4 of us, were celebrating our Dad’s birthday. We were all meeting at my sister’s house before heading out. She only lives about half a mile away from me. I had some extra time and so I thought I would walk there rather than drive. I then took it a little further and ended up walking the long way. I turned 1/2 a mile in to 1.85 miles!

Screenshot_2016-06-16-06-33-40 (2)

The last 2 days, days 14 and 15, I really should have gone to the gym. I haven’t been since Sunday. (It’s been a rough week.) But I really haven’t been in the mood to do so. So I decided to take some longer walks instead. One was just shy of 3 miles!

Screenshot_2016-06-16-06-34-19 (2)

The other was a little over 2 miles.

Screenshot_2016-06-16-06-41-20 (2)

Both had lots of hills; steep, steep hills. Good work outs!

Sometimes I try to walk over my lunch break. Last week was a busy week and I didn’t take my full hour the first 3 days of the week. On Thursday (day 9) I was so excited to get out in the sunshine!

What’s the problem you ask? I was wearing heels and had left my tennis shoes at home. Man. I was bummed. =(

No fear though. I decided to hoof it barefoot. My work just happens to be across the street from a residential neighborhood. It’s not so weird to walk barefoot through a neighborhood, right? Well I did!

Screenshot_2016-06-16-06-47-19 (2)

All in all I have walked over 25 miles (25.6 to be exact) so far this month. That’s 25 miles in 15 days. 25 MILES!

25_miles_300

I can’t wait to see how far I will have walked once this challenge is complete. Can I do 50 miles? I think I can!

What other challenges can I make for myself?? Hmm…

What challenges are you going to set for yourself?

Bettina

Leave a Reply

