30 in 30 Complete

I can’t believe I did it!

But I did!

What is it that I’ve done? The beginning of June I gave myself a challenge. The challenge was to walk at least 1 mile each day for the month of June. By the end of the month I would walk at least a minimum of 30 miles. I have been calling it the 30 in 30 Challenge.

Now this might not seem like much of a challenge to you but let’s break this down. A typical person takes roughly 20 minutes to walk 1 mile. My average was getting close to 18 minutes a mile by the end of the walk and sometimes even faster. But still that is 18-20 minutes of physical activity every single day for 30 days straight. Most days I walked more than a mile. My average was 1.77 miles a day over the 30 days. This would mean that I walked roughly 33 minutes each day.

It is often recommended that we get 30 minutes of exercise 3-4 days a week. How many of us actually do that? Not many.

30 minutes

The 30 in 30 Challenge ensured me to get 30 minutes of exercise in just about every day for an entire month. An entire month!

I posted an update the middle of June of my success thus far. As of the 15th I had walked 25.6 miles!

20160616_061452 - Copy

By Day 30 I had walked 53.15 miles!

20160702_220108

I find that to be quite amazing!

Definitely a first for me.

Yeah, I am very proud of myself for being able to complete this challenge.

On Day 30 I wanted to go out with a bang. I also had a hankering for a little something sweet. There is a Baskin Robbins located approximately 1.9 miles from my apartment. I thought why not walk there, have a little ice cream and then walk back.

ice cream

Before I had a chance to talk myself out of it I walked out the door.

Screenshot_2016-07-02-21-57-51 (2)

1 hour 8 minutes 8 seconds later I had walked 4.04 miles and got myself a sweet treat as a reward.

20160630_204753

If you remember I said that there are a lot of hills in the neighborhood next to my apartment complex. I thought I would take a few pictures of these hills. Some of them turned out to truly represent what the hills looked and felt like when walked up them. Others not so much.

Here they are.

Those are some big hills!

Even though I walk them most days, trust me I still get winded going up them.

So this challenge is complete. What will my next challenge be? Hmm…

Bettina

2 thoughts on “30 in 30 Complete

Leave a Reply

