Chicken Tortilla Soup

Hola!

I was in the mood for something very simple this last week. I love cooking but sometimes you need a break. You know?

So I broke out the slow cooker and made Chicken Tortilla Soup.

20160627_191349

This soup was amazing!

It was so full of flavor and the smell when I came home after work was to die for. It couldn’t be any easier either.

Simply place the chicken in the bottom of the slow cooker. Normally I would salt and pepper my meat but because of the other flavors going in to this I actually didn’t this time. Shocker, right? I don’t think you’ll miss it though. Top with chopped onion.

20160627_070017

About the only way I think you could make this dish any easier is if you were to buy frozen chopped onion. This will negate any chopping. Makes for less dishes too!

Add 1 can of drained and rinsed black beans. Beware there are a lot of canned goods in this dish. It’s part of what makes it an easy dish though.

20160627_070041

Now add a bag of frozen corn. The original recipe calls for 12 oz of corn but my bag had 16 oz. I decided to go with it. I like corn. =)

20160627_070248

Now for the flavor in the broth. Add 2 cans of Rotel, 1 can tomato sauce and 1 can green chilies. I like spice so I made one of my Rotel cans Hot. I considered making the can of green chiles hot as well but decided against it. Spice is good but you want to be able to taste the food. The 1 can of Hot Rotel was the perfect amount of heat in my opinion.

20160627_070330

20160627_070823

Now for what I think is the key to this dish. Add in a packet of taco seasoning.

20160627_070832

I know. I know. Not what I expected either. But I’m telling you…you need this! I used the whole packet too. The recipe calls for just 1 oz but I wasn’t about to try measuring out a quarter ounce. What’s wrong with more flavor, right?

20160627_070946

Last thing before you can leave for the day is add 32 oz of chicken broth.

20160627_071011

Now set the slow cooker on low and forget it. When you come home you are going to have one unforgettable soup ready for dinner.

20160627_071142

I love my old fashioned slow cooker!

Can you believe I asked my Grandma for this very slow cooker as a birthday gift while I was in college? lol I didn’t use it for the first time until years later but I just had to have it!

La di da di da

Ok…you’re home from work now. If I could somehow provide you with the smell you will walk in to I would. Alas I cannot.

But I can show you a picture of what you will see when you peak in to your slow cooker.

20160627_181627

Mmm…

Yumm!

But wait…it gets better.

Dig out the 2 chicken breast that you placed in the bottom.

20160627_181739

What? That’s it? There is no way those 2 little chicken breasts are going to be enough meat. Are you kidding me?

Oh but wait.

Walah!

20160627_181947

I was surprised to see how much meat was there after shredding it. This looks more like it.

Add all of the meat back in to the soup and give it a few minutes to let the flavor soak in. I’ll be honest here. I used this time to go back to the store, or stores (the first one didn’t have the chips that I wanted), to buy some tortilla chips.

Remember how I said that I have been counting calories? Well normally I will see how many calories are in a recipe prior to shopping but I didn’t this time. So I was hesitant to get tortilla chips at first thinking they would put me over the top. After putting together the soup in the morning I was able to determine the calorie count and realized I was able to add in the tortilla chips. Besides how can you have Chicken TORTILLA Soup without the tortillas?? You can’t!

By the way this soup is supposed to serve 6 but I turned it in to 5. It made a lot more than I though so next time I will probably stick to the 6. At 6 servings the soup by itself is 278 calories a serving. At 5 servings it’s just a little more at 334 calories a serving.

1 serving of Mission Tortilla Strips is 140 calories for 12 chips. 474 calories for a very filling dinner is not bad!

20160627_191156

Back to the soup. After coming home from getting the tortilla part of my Chicken Tortilla Soup meant not only did I get to walk in to that scrumptious smell again but I also got to eat! Yay!

20160627_182046

Tell me that doesn’t look good. So good!

Call me weird but I like to divvy up my food into equal servings before I dive in. That way I can get as close to each serving being the same as possible.

20160627_190836

See? It makes so much!

Each one of these containers filled my tiny soup bowls 3 times. Normally I just go back for a second serving of soup, chili etc. But since I knew that it was within my calorie goal for the day and it was just that good I went ahead and had a third. Why not, right?

20160627_191120

You must try this soup. It doesn’t get any simpler and the flavor is spot on!

Here is the recipe:

Chicken Tortilla Soup

  • Servings: 5
  • Time: 10 minutes prep; 8-10 hours cooking
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Calorie Count – 334 calories per serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb chicken breasts
  • 1/2 large yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 16 oz frozen corn
  • 2 cans Rotel (I used 1 Original and 1 Hot)
  • 1 8 oz can tomato sauce (I used one with roasted garlic added)
  • 1 can green chilies
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 32 oz chicken broth
  • tortilla strips (12 chips is 1 serving = 140 calories)

Directions:

  1. Put chicken in bottom of slow cooker.
  2. Top with chopped onion, black beans and frozen corn.
  3. Add Rotel, tomato sauce and green chilies.
  4. Sprinkle taco seasoning on top.
  5. Pour in chicken broth and give a little stir. The chicken will stay at the bottom.
  6. Set slow cooker on low for 8-10 hours.
  7. Pull out chicken and shred. Add back to slow cooker.
  8. Serve and top with tortilla strips.
  9. Enjoy!

[\recipe]

One thought on “Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. Pingback: Dinner Tonight | 3 Pink Chairs

Leave a Reply

