Birthday Weekend

This last weekend was my birthday.

Happy Birthday to Me!!

I celebrated by visiting my friend Leslie and her husband Jason. She doesn’t live too far away, only about 2 hours, but we don’t see each other nearly as often as I would like.

It was a wonderful weekend filled with lots of good food, a little nature, The Great British Baking Show and good quality time together.

IMG_1171

The above picture is probably my favorite picture from the entire weekend. I simply cannot wait to get a frame to put it in. =)

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

I arrived Friday evening just at dinner time. We were all on the same page and decided to go to 44 Stone Public House for some grub. Now let me warn you I decided to go crazy this weekend and not count calories. What?! Hey, I’m on vacation (even if just for the weekend) and it’s my birthday! So…no calorie counting!

Leslie and I were on the same page and got the veggie curry. Hers was as is whereas I added chicken to mine. As good as it was with chicken I honestly don’t think I would have missed it if it hadn’t been there. It has inspired me to try making my own curry at home. This one looks good. Can’t wait!

My first birthday dessert was this wonderful IPA Cheesecake Gelato with Blackberries. Oh my goodness! It was so creamy and smooth. Out of the 3 desserts I had over the weekend it was my favorite. Yes, I had one at each restaurant that we went to. I told you no calorie counting. lol

When we got home they introduced me to The Great British Baking Show. Can you believe we watched the entire 5th season over the weekend? Well, we did! I love watching cooking shows and had never heard of this one. Though I must admit after watching a little bit of that first episode it did look familiar. I hadn’t watched the British version but I had watched the American version before. BTW I am so glad that Nancy won. =)

Jason baked so much over the weekend including these Blueberry Scones the morning of my birthday. It was the best to eat them right out of the oven. Great way to start the day!

20160730_072517

Get this, the recipe for this scone came from The Great British Bake Off Cookbook. It was a British baking weekend. =)

Leslie and I made sure to get a little exercise in to help burn off some of the extra calories we were taking in. Each morning we would take her dogs for a little walk. You know I love my walks!

After our walk we did some shopping and of course had to stop for some lunch. This time we went to Addison’s for some pizza and get this, Crab Rangoon Dip. Now I have had my fair share of Crab Rangoon but I don’t think I had ever heard of Crab Rangoon Dip prior to eating at this restaurant. There wasn’t a drop left. We ate it all!

As good as the dip was the cake took the award for this meal. I have wanted to try a banana cake for quite awhile now. I see it on Pinterest all the time. The texture of this one didn’t quite look like what I have seen in recipes but it was good. There is no denying that.

The entire weekend was wonderful but the one thing that I was looking forward to was kayaking. I had never been kayaking before and couldn’t wait to cross it off my Bucket List and my New Year’s Resolutions List.

I am not sure if I quite knew what to expect but it was much more relaxing than I thought it would be. The water was so smooth it looked like glass. You almost didn’t want to disturb it.

Up until this point I had already had a great birthday. I really couldn’t imagine it getting much better but it did. Leslie and Jason took me out to dinner one last time. This time we went to what is known as one of the best restaurants in Columbia, at least one of the most popular, Flat Branch Pub & Brewing.

This was my favorite entrée of the weekend. I went for more of a comfort food item and went with a Cajun Pasta with Smoked Sausage and Chicken. It was soooo good. The Homemade Sweet Potato Chips that Jason ordered as an appetizer were simple but sinful. The dessert however was completely over the top – Stout Brownie with 2 scoops of ice cream and all the toppings!

 

Oh and I got a new top for my birthday. Tell me I’m not the only one to treat themselves to a new outfit on their birthday. I know I can’t be.

20160730_203316

All in all it was a FANTASTIC birthday weekend!

I must shout out a HUGE thank you to my friends for being such fabulous hosts and to my brothers and their significant others for taking care of my “babies” while I was gone. A girl really couldn’t ask for much more. =)

Leave a Reply

