Sausage and Apple Stuffed Acorn Squash

I wrote this post over a week ago. All I had to do was add the recipe at the end and hit publish. But life got in the way and it was a rough week. So here I am now. I have several posts I would like to get in before the month ends. We’ll see if I can do it. Fingers crossed!

It’s so easy to go sweet and stay sweet when working with a theme of apples. I mean you have apple pie, apple cobbler, apple cake (possibly to be seen later this month), apple dumplings, apple crisp… The list of desserts can go on and on. Why not throw something savory in to the mix?

That’s what I’m doing with this Sausage and Apple Stuffed Acorn Squash.

20160915_204615.jpg

It’s ok if you drool just a little bit. Umm…I did.

I first saw this recipe on Facebook. You know how people share all of those wonderful Tasty videos? I saw it and knew it would be the perfect addition to my apple theme this month and it’s perfect for fall! Yay!

I’ll be honest here, I’ve not really eaten acorn squash all that much. I’m trying to think of the last time I had it. It may have been in my early 20’s making it over 10 years ago. Woah…I almost typed 20 years ago. Look at me try to age myself 10 years. Slow down Bettina! lol

When I did have it though I remember we put butter and possibly some type of sugar in the cavity and then baked/roasted. This dish is roasted but it’s more savory. The other reminds me more of a dessert.

For those of you who don’t know what an acorn squash looks like, here it is.

20160915_191555.jpg

I thought I would do a little research on my little friend here and learn some stuff. Learning stuff is always good, right?

Acorn Squash is in the winter squash category along with butternut squash, spaghetti squash and pumpkins. Some of my favorites! It is a hardy vegetable and will last for several months when stored correctly. This is good to know for times when you purchase one with good intentions and it ends up sitting on your counter. You know this has happened to all of us. But don’t you worry, it will be waiting for you when you’re ready. =)

It also appears to be very easy to grow. I don’t personally have a garden but hope to have a small one someday (to give it a try) and am always thinking of what I can have in my garden. Hearing that something is “easy to grow” always makes my ears perk up.

Just like with pumpkins, you can roast and eat the seeds. I am seriously going to have to try this someday. Can you believe I have never eaten or roasted pumpkin seeds?? I haven’t!

Acorn squash is typically baked and can be made both savory and sweet. I love versatility in my foods. =)

Let’s get cooking!

Start with cutting the tops and bottoms off the squash so that it will sit flat on your baking sheet.

20160915_191828.jpg

Make sure to not cut through to the center of the squash…like I did.

20160915_191906.jpg

Aren’t they so pretty?! They look like little flowers!

20160915_192006.jpg

Scoop out all of the seeds. This part is so much quicker than scooping out the seeds of a spaghetti squash. Just saying. Oh, remember where I cut through a little too far?? Yeah, this is why you don’t want to do that…

20160915_192130.jpg

Sprinkle with a little bit of EVOO, salt and pepper. Or in my case I sprayed with Pam and then seasoned with S & P.

20160915_192625.jpg

Roast for 40-50 minutes.

Now on to the stuffing part of this dish.

Start by sautéing onion, celery, salt, pepper and fresh rosemary. I don’t normally use fresh herbs but did in this case. I was in the mood. I’m not sure I noticed the rosemary any more than I would had I used it’s dried version though. Oh well.

20160915_195220.jpg

Add in the sausage and garlic and cook until the sausage is cooked through.

20160915_200142.jpg

Tell me this doesn’t look good?

20160915_200835.jpg

Now the star of the show – APPLE!

20160915_201058.jpg

Add the chopped apple and cook just a smidge. You want the apple to soften a little but not completely.

20160915_201234.jpg

It really is a nice combo.

20160915_201316.jpg

Add in the final two ingredients…Panko breadcrumbs

20160915_201715.jpg

and the shredded Parmesan cheese.

20160915_201905.jpg

Just barely mix together.

20160915_201944.jpg

If timed correctly, your squash should be coming out of the oven.

20160915_201443.jpg

Stuff each squash “bowl” with your sausage-apple mixture. I wasn’t sure if it would all fit but I made it work. =)

20160915_202233.jpg

Oh my!

Just looking back at these pictures is making me hungry all over again.

Put the squash back in the oven for about 15 minutes. Pull out and sprinkle with some more shredded Parmesan cheese. Put back in for an additional 5 minutes.

20160915_203728.jpg

Oh yes!

20160915_204439.jpg

That right there is food ecstasy!

20160915_204507.jpg

Eat with a little salad and you have yourself a yummy Fall dinner with APPLES!

I mean, look at it!

20160915_204725.jpg

I’m telling you. You will not regret fixing this dish.

Here’s the recipe.

Sausage and Apple Stuffed Acorn Squash

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: approximately 1 hour 15 minutes
  • Print

429 calories per serving

20160915_204725.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium acorn squash, halved and clean of their seeds
  • Pam
  • S&P (salt and pepper)
  • 1 Tbsp EVOO
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 celery ribs, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 1/2 lb sausage
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 apple, chopped
  • 1 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • 3/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Cut off the top and bottom of the acorn squash so that it will sit flat on the baking sheet. Cut in half and clean out the seeds.
  2. Spray with Pam, or use EVOO, then sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  3. Roast in a preheated oven (400 degrees) for about 40-45 minutes. Will be very tender when done.
  4. While the squash is roasting, sauté onion, celery and rosemary in EVOO.
  5. Once the onion is transparent, add in the sausage and garlic. Cook until the sausage is done. Make sure to break up as much as you can.
  6. Add in the apple and cook for just a minute or two. You don’t want the apple to become too soft.
  7. Stir in the Panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 cup of the shredded Parmesan cheese.
  8. When the squash comes out of the oven stuff each “bowl” with the sausage-apple mixture. They will be quite full.
  9. Put back in the oven for about 15 minutes. Top with last 1/4 cup of the cheese and continue to bake for an additional 5 minutes.
  10. Serve with a salad on the side.
  11. Enjoy!

Enjoy!

Bettina

2 thoughts on “Sausage and Apple Stuffed Acorn Squash

Leave a Reply

