Steak and Chicken Kabobs

The night that I signed up for Weight Watchers I was hanging out at a friend’s house. She was making steak and chicken kabobs for dinner and man they were one of the best meals I had had in a while. She always cooks good food though. And she definitely eats healthier than I do. So it was no surprise that when I entered the recipe in the Weight Watchers app the point value was low.

You know what that means? I stole her dish and made it for myself! lol

20170502_191319

The chicken is only 2 points for 3 oz and the steak only 3 for the same amount. The marinade for each is only 1 to 2 points which is awesome! She used zucchini, onion, bell pepper, mushrooms and potatoes. All would be zero points except for the potatoes. But I’m not a fan of half of them. I cook with onions and bell peppers but like the pieces to be small and practically cooked to death. I can’t stand the crunch. I don’t know what it is but if there’s crunch then I won’t eat them. Since they wouldn’t get soft enough for me on the grill, I opted to leave them out. I also didn’t use potatoes since they aren’t exactly low in points. So zucchini and mushrooms it was. Oh and some yellow squash. I decided to throw in some yellow squash for color. All zero points!

20170502_190609

You can’t ask for a healthier dish that tastes amazing. =)

Unfortunately since I live in an apartment I am not allowed to have a grill. Fortunately my sister lives very close, only half a mile from my apartment, so I took my food over to her house. She did her own cooking, also on the grill, and I did mine. It worked out quite well. =)

In the future though when I make these again, and I will be making them again, I have a couple ideas on how I can make them at my place. I can cook them in the oven. I know it’s not the same but it would work. I can also use a grill pan. In fact one of my aunts gave me one but I haven’t used it yet. It would be exciting to give it a go and see how well it works. But I’m not sure if the skewers will fit inside the pan very well. I may use all the same ingredients but not turn them in to kabobs. In stead just cook them in the grill pan. The flavor will still be there. Possibilities!

So my friend follows recipes but not quite as much as I do. I may alter a recipe here and there but it isn’t often that I create something on my own. She does this a little better than I do. In this case it meant she remembered which ingredients she used to make the marinade but not necessarily how much of each went in. Even though my marinade and her marinade had all of the same ingredients, they didn’t taste the same. They were both delicious but not the same.

Hey! I guess that means I did create this recipe…sort of. Well looky there!

For the chicken marinade I used the following ingredients: ground mustard, honey, apple cider vinegar and olive oil.

20170502_064613

I used 1 Tbsp of each and mixed together inside a gallon size bag.

20170502_064944

I then added in some salt, pepper and garlic powder and mixed again. Technically they can all be added at the same time. This is just what I did. Add the chicken, seal the bag, squish around to make sure all of the chicken is coated and you’re done.

20170502_070118

For the steak marinade I used the following ingredients: soy sauce, brown sugar, rice vinegar, olive oil, lemon juice and a clove of garlic (minced). I used the same increments as I did for the chicken and put in 1 Tbsp of each.

20170502_070859

Again I added salt, pepper, garlic powder and this time also some red pepper flakes. Mix together.

20170502_071731

Add the sliced steak, seal the bag and squish together to make sure all of the steak is coated.

20170502_072438

Once both of your meats and marinades are ready to go, set them in the fridge for at least 4 hours. I prepared mine in the morning and grilled them when I came home form work. I would estimate that they marinated for 11 hours.

When you are ready to prepare the kabobs make sure that you soak the skewers for at least 30 minutes if you are using wooden ones. If you don’t the skewers can and will burn when grilling.

I know quite often you will find kabobs all pretty like with each of the ingredients on the skewer together. It’s a pretty sight. It really is. However, not all of the items cook at the same rate. This is why I put like items on skewers together. All of the chicken were on their own, all of the steak, all of the squash and all of the mushrooms. You can do it however you want but this worked best for me.

Looking good!

Now it’s time for the grill!

This was my first time grilling in a long time. My sister’s boyfriend prepared the grill but I did all of the actual cooking of the meat and veggies. I rather enjoyed doing so too. Definitely makes me want to get my own grill. Someday…

Yumm!

They don’t take long at all to cook. I wish I remember how long but it wasn’t long. A few minutes-ish on each side. What takes the longest is the fact that there is so much food. You honestly can’t fit it all on the grill at the same time.

Well, not this grill. And not when you are sharing it with someone who is also cooking big portions of meat.

20170502_19513020170502_192444

Since each skewer had the same portion of meat on it, I counted each skewer as a serving. This made it easier to divvy up the points and track my meals. Technically I added the veggies in to each the chicken and the steak recipes when creating the recipe in the WW app but since they are worth zero points I didn’t worry too much if I wasn’t tracking them accurately.

Typically I ate 1 chicken skewer, 2 steak skewers, 1 mushroom and 1 squash at each meal. It was plenty to fill me up. Plenty!

20170502_194254

And I had soooo much leftover that I was able to eat off of it for the remaining of the week. Yay!

20170502_200706

Here’s the recipe.

Steak and Chicken Kabobs

  • Servings: Chicken - 7 skewers; Steak - 12 skewers
  • Print

Chicken – 2 points per skewer/serving

Steak – 2 points per skewer/serving

20170502_191319

Ingredients for the Chicken Marinade:

  • 1 Tbsp ground mustard
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp EVOO
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder

Ingredients for the Steak Marinade:

  • 1 Tbsp Low Sodium Soy Sauce
  • 1 Tbsp Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tbsp EVOO
  • 1 Tbsp Rice Wine Vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

Remaining Ingredients:

  • 18 oz chicken breasts, cut in to bite size pieces
  • 16 oz flank steak, sliced thin
  • 16 oz whole button mushrooms
  • 2 medium zucchini, sliced in to half moons
  • 2 medium yellow squash, sliced in to half moons

Directions:

  1. Mix all of the Chicken Marinade ingredients in a gallon size ziploc bag. Add chicken, seal bag and squish together until all of chicken is coated with marinade.
  2. Mix all of the Steak Marinade ingredients in a gallon size ziploc bag. Add steak, seal bag and squish together until all of the steak is coated with marinade.
  3. Sit bags of meat and marinade in fridge for at least 4 hours.
  4. Soak wooden skewers in water for at least 30 minutes.
  5. Start threading the chicken on skewers by itself. I put roughly 4-5 pieces on each skewer depending on the size of the pieces. Thread 2 slices of the steak on each skewer. Thread all mushrooms on their own skewers and rotate threading the zucchini and yellow squash on their own skewers.
  6. Once all of the food has been properly skewered, begin grilling. Each skewer will take a few minutes per side. Chicken needs to be cooked through; the rest can be cooked to your liking.
  7. Eat!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this! Share your pictures or thoughts if you try the recipe.

What else do you like to grill??

Leave a Reply

