30 by the 30th: Six

I’ve always wanted to join a book club. I have. But something has always stopped me from actually doing so.

I think I’m worried I won’t be intellectual enough to participate. Or maybe I don’t want to do it alone. It could be that I’m worried I won’t like the book; that it won’t be something I’d want to read.

It could be all of the above. It probably is actually.

It’s time to face all of those fears though.

I finally joined a book club!

I did this one day last week actually. I googled book clubs in the KC area and one popped up on MeetUp. My trusty friend that I found a year ago yet again is taking me on an adventure.

Have you guys heard of MeetUp? No? I’ll have to do a post about it sometime. To sum it up though it’s a website where people can go and find activities they can do with others. Essentially it’s lots and lots of clubs. You join which ever one you want. Or join many. Your choice. They will then have events that you can go to if you want. Some are more active than others. And you can do something different every day of the week if you want. It’s all what you make it to be. =)

So when I saw a ChickLits book club on MeetUp I didn’t think twice. I clicked “Join Us” and awaited their response. Of course I was accepted. I think it’s very rare for someone to be denied. Although I have seen a few people be kicked out of groups. For the most part though I don’t think this happens often.

Once I was accepted I was able to see where they were meeting next. It looks like they have a meeting once a month – the first Thursday each month – and they always meet in a public place like a restaurant.

This makes me feel comfortable already. I have an entire month to read the book and it’s not at a stranger’s house. At the time that I signed up there were 13 other people, I assume all female but surely mostly female, who had said they would be there. So not a terribly small nor a terribly large group. Just enough for me to speak out if I wish or hide just a bit if I wanted to. Which might be the case my first time meeting with them.

At each meeting they will vote on what the next book will be. It will be interesting to see how this is done. Who knows, maybe some day I can throw in an option. Wouldn’t that be nice?

This first book is “Where’d You Go, Bernadette” by Maria Semple.

I just so happened to receive a 10% off coupon from Barnes & Noble the morning after I joined the book club which I took as a sign. 😉 So over my lunch I walked to B&N and purchased the book. Now to get it read prior to the first meeting. Remember how I said I joined a book club last week? Well it’s been about a week and I have yet to start reading the book.

Starting now though and I don’t have a lot going on this weekend. So I should be fine. Fingers crossed!

I’ll try to write a little review of the book once I’m finished. But I’ll definitely tell you all about my first book club meeting. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “30 by the 30th: Six

  1. Good for you Bettina, I know this is something you have mentioned wanting to do for a long time. Kudos to you for finally taking the leap. I know you will enjoy it! And, the first book looks interesting.

Leave a Reply

