Believing in Yourself

I came across this yesterday and really liked it. I think we can apply this message to many areas in our life but for me right now I am thinking of a specific one – weight loss.

Take a quick read or a slow one. I’ll leave that to you. =)

I’ll catch you on the other side.

Believing In Yourself  

A professor stood before a class of 20 senior organic biology students, about to hand out the final exam.

“I want to say that it’s been a pleasure teaching you this semester. I know you’ve all worked extremely hard and many of you are off to medical school after summer. So that no one gets their GPA messed up because they might have been celebrating a bit too much this week, anyone who would like to opt out of the final exam today will receive a ‘B’ for the course.”

There was much rejoicing amongst the class as students got up, passed by the professor to say thank you and accept this generous offer.

As the last taker left the room, the professor looked out over the handful of remaining students and asked, “Anyone else? This is your last chance.”

One final student rose up and took the offer.

The professor closed the door and took attendance of those students remaining. “I’m glad to see you believe in yourself,” before saying, “You all have ‘A’s.”

Who would have taken the B if given the chance?

I’m not going to lie, I might have. It would depend on the class. If I knew I had or was going to get an A then no way. Why would I settle for a lower grade if I could earn a higher one myself? Plus, I would have already studied for the test. All that hard work to just go down the drain. Uh uh…don’t think so.

How can this apply to weight loss?

In many ways.

There are lots of fad diets out there that say you can lose 10 lbs in 3 days or 20 lbs in 30 days. I’m sure they work too. But what are you going to do once the 3 days or the 30 days are over? All of the weight that you lost will come back. It’s almost inevitable. Because you haven’t changed anything in your day to day life to cause these changes. So as soon as you go back to your daily life and your old habits the weight will slowly, or not so slowly, creep back on.

You didn’t believe in yourself to make smart choices to better your life. You wanted a quick fix.

And what about that Ideal Image commercial? CoolSculpting what? I hear this commercial almost every day it seems. Supposedly they freeze your fat cells and it’s supposed to last. I don’t know. I don’t want to talk negatively about what they are doing. Especially when I know nothing of it. But it doesn’t seem like a good idea to me. And it doesn’t seem like it would last.

Losing weight isn’t fast. Some weeks will be better than others and if you’re fortunate you will have several good weeks in a row. Slowly but surely you’ll get to your end goal if you keep making good choices.

It takes hard work. Both when choosing what and how much to eat and exercising. But it’s worth it. In the end it IS worth it.

You will get your A if you believe in yourself!

Leave a Reply

