My 100th Post!

Wow! I can’t believe I have published 100 posts on 3 Pink Chairs.

I thought that it might be a good time to do a “Getting To Know Me” Q&A. Today is the 24th so I picked out 24 questions to answer about myself. Some are rather basic. Some are fun. Some may even get a little deep. Hope you all enjoy!

What would you do if you won the lottery?   This one is easy. I would travel! There are so many places I want to go but either don’t have the money, can’t find anyone to go with =( or don’t want to take the time off work. The first place I think I would go is Australia. Back in high school I even wanted to be a foreign exchange student and go there.

What’s the best single day on the calendar? Uh…my birthday of course!

What is your favorite holiday?   Hmm…this is a hard one for me. Years ago it would have been hands down Halloween. I used to say that when I was older and had my own house I would have a Halloween party every year and that it would be the best party ever! Nowadays it’s a toss up between Thanksgiving and Christmas. I love how simple Thanksgiving is. Food, family and good times. You really can’t beat that. But I also love Christmas decorations and can’t wait to put mine up each year. If I absolutely must choose, I’d say Christmas but Thanksgiving is right behind it.

What is the last book you read?   I’m currently in the middle of reading 2 books actually. This is a first for me too. Typically I’m a one book at a time kind of girl. But I hadn’t finished my other when I joined the book club so I have set it aside and will pick it back up after the book club meets. This book is “Sweet Salt Air” by Babara Delinksy. The book for the book club is “Where’d You Go, Bernadette” by Maria Semple.

What is something that a lot of people are obsessed with but you just don’t get the point of?   Snapchat! I really don’t get it. If you want to take silly pictures and share it with friends, why can’t you do it with text of messenger??

What is your biggest pet peeve with modern technology?   Emojis and emoticons. I use some every once in awhile; the basic smiley face and winky face. But when people have entire conversations with them I do not know what they are talking about. I just want to say “Use Your Words!”. lol

What do you value in a friendship?   Having someone that you can always rely on no matter what. Good times and bad. Someone you can always turn to. And vice versa. Friendship is a two way road!

What would you tell your teenage self if you could go back in time?  Don’t lose your confidence. It’s not the easiest getting it back.

If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with your extra time? I feel this is a trick question. lol How many people say if only they had the time? But honestly I would probably do more of what I do in my spare time already – watch TV, search Pinterest and blog. Oh I would read more! Yeah, I think I would do that. =)

Do you want to retire to live or live to retire?   Good question. I can’t imagine ever being retired. I honestly can’t. I don’t necessarily want to work for the rest of my life but I also think it would be boring having nothing to do. I’d most likely have to stay busy doing something. A club, volunteering, something. But I’d also want to travel as much as I could. And spend time with family, hopefully grandchildren. =)

If a crystal ball could tell you the future, what would you want to know?   If I will ever find love, get married and have children.

What hobby would you get into if time and money were not an issue? Hmm…I’ve always thought photography is really neat. I think I would give that a try.

Have you ever had a nickname?   Yes, when I was in elementary school people called me Tator or Tator Tot. Now I have 2 different nicknames – B and Tina.

Who is someone that you miss having in your life?  Hands down this would be my Grandma. She died last Christmas and I miss her every single day. There wasn’t a single thing in my life that she didn’t know about. She was my best friend and my sounding board. She was there for me anytime I needed her. She listened to me, cried with me, laughed with me and advised me when I needed it the most. Even when I didn’t want to hear what she was saying. If everyone could be as lucky as me to have had her as a Grandma they would feel the same. She was the best!

How often do you play sports? Ha! I don’t!

What’s the best book or series you have ever read? There are 2 books and 1 series that come to mind. The two books are “A Tree Grows In Brooklyn” by Betty Smith and “The Good Dream” by Donna VanLiere. I highly recommend both books. The series is The Bride Quartet by Nora Roberts which consists of, you guessed it, 4 books: Vision in White, Bed of Roses, Savor the Moment and Happy Ever After. So good!

If you could live anywhere where would it be?   If I could truly live anywhere, I would live everywhere! I mean it. I would have the type of job that allowed me to work from anywhere and I would have several houses. That way if I felt like being on the beach I could. If I wanted to be in the mountains I could. If I wanted to be in the city I could. You get the picture. I could go anywhere and be anywhere I wanted.

What motivates you to work hard?   I like to please people and I feel terrible when I have let people down. Working hard and doing my best and having my boss like my work and know that they can trust me to do a good job is my motivation.

What would be the most amazing adventure to go on? The absolute best adventure would be to travel around the world. Wow! That would be amazing!

What did you want to be when you were small?   When I was a kid I wanted to grow up to be an author. I loved reading books but never wrote a thing. I didn’t even like writing papers in school. I always got good grades but never thought that I did a good job. Writing this blog now is probably the closest I’ll get to being an author. But I’m ok with it. =)

Who has impressed you the most with what they have accomplished? My answer for this is not really a single person but a group of people – single mothers. Many of my friends have been or are single moms and they amaze me all of the time. Several of them own their own homes, have gone to school and have college degrees and are strong women. Not to say that being a single mom means that you can’t have your own house or a college degree but both are huge accomplishments for anyone and both take a lot of courage and dedication. To do that and raise one or more children is something I admire.

What pets did you have growing up? We had both dogs and cats though I can’t recall if we ever had them at the same time. After my cat midnight died we were pretty much a dog only family until Mr. Trixie came in to my life a little over 2 years ago. Now all of my siblings have dogs and I have a cat.

If you had to describe yourself in 5 words, what would they be?   Talkative. Energetic. Emotional. Low Self-Esteem. Work-In-Progress.

What are you afraid of?   2 things – failure and being alone. Failure because I don’t like messing up. I realize that you don’t always get things right the first time but still failure doesn’t sit well with me. Being alone because I want to share my life with a companion. There are a lot of things that I have done solo and I am ok, far more than some, with being alone. But I don’t want to be alone for the rest of my life. That scares me!

Well, that’s it! I hope you have enjoyed this getting to know you session. I tried to pick some that were fun and easy and others that really gave you a feel for who I am. Feel free to answer some of the questions yourself in the comments section. How fun would that be?!

2 thoughts on “My 100th Post!

Leave a Reply

