WW Week 23 Recap

As of last week’s meeting I was down a total of 34.4 lbs. Only .6 more lbs until I receive my next 5 lb star. Yes, I love getting these stars and charms. lol This week I stayed within my daily points every day. I hardly touched my weekly points. AND I worked out 6 days this week due to my training for the race and the race itself. Surely with eating fewer calories and burning all the calories I did when working out, I would be down at least the .6 that I wanted so badly.

But no, I didn’t budge at all.

I’m proud of myself for maintaining my weight but disappointed at the same time. You hear all the time that there are 3500 calories in a lb. If you eat less or burn more and the total between the two equals more than 3500 calories, you’ll at least lose a lb a week. Hello! I’d say that I took in less or burned more than those 3500 calories last week. Why did I only maintain? Why didn’t I lose? Why didn’t I get that 5 lb star? Why am I not that much closer to my end goal??

It can be frustrating sometimes. A little discouraging too. I think I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again. Sometimes I feel when I work out, I don’t lose as much. I say this with absolute confidence, the majority of my weight loss is due to the change in my diet. It’s true what they say…the key to weight loss is

Image result for 80 diet 20 exercise

I stand by it 100%. But I also want to be fit. I don’t just want to be skinny. Though, if I’m completely honest with myself, I do think I would be satisfied. If I didn’t want to run any races and actually feel like I was doing a good job. If I could fit in to all of the clothes that I want to wear. If I could stand next to someone and not think to myself I wish I was in as good of shape as they are. If I could do all of these things and not work out, I probably would. But I can’t. Some of them maybe, but not all. Therefore I don’t just want to be skinny, I want to be fit too. Not strength competition fit, just every day fit with a little “Oh, you wish you were as fit as me” thrown in.

This week’s topic went right along with my feelings this week. I love it when this happens. The topic of the week is to “Shift Your Thinking”. The leader of our group asked for some of the things that confuse us or frustrate us. I raised my hand and stated my dilemma for the week. You know, about staying within my points and working out but not moving up or down on the scale. One of the things I love about the meetings is everyone is so supportive. Immediately 3 or 4 women started saying things. I’m a note taker. I wish I could have gotten all of what they were saying. Sadly I did not. What I did get though was the following:

  • Working out is good for so many reasons – helps prevent Alzheimer’s, your brain in general, your heart, diabetes, preventing high blood pressure, your skin, mental and physical health in general, etc…
  • Working out helps you to be more flexible, sleep better and gives you more energy.
  • When working out a lot, after hardly working out for a period of time, there might be some inflammation and water retention.  (So I didn’t know anything about this and had to look it up. This is what I found.)
  • Working out improves your quality of life overall.

In other words, there are lots of benefits other than losing weight to exercising. We all know this. Maybe not every single thing listed above and of course there is much more out there. But still, we know that exercise is good for you for many reasons.

A couple of other things that I heard were “You’ll probably see a big loss next week.” and “It is frustrating because we are told to exercise and eat right and you’ll lose weight. So when you do both and you don’t lose, it’s like why?”. The first was very encouraging and the second was reassuring that I’m not the only who was feeling what I was feeling at that moment.

After listening to the ladies in my group and after doing a little research on my own I do feel that this particular week’s lack of change at the scale was probably do to the inflammation. I hardly ever work out. You guys know this. I pretty much tell you all what I do from week to week. In the past 2 1/2 months, I’ve had a few good weeks but I’m not consistent. Not in the least. Prior to last week’s huge increase in exercise I hadn’t done anything for 2 weeks and then I only went running once. I love the feeling after I finish working out but I don’t keep it up regularly. Maybe if I can make exercise more of a habit rather than a means to an end (preparing for a race), I will see more of an impact at the scale.

I’m still learning all of the this but I’ll get there. =)

Leave a Reply

